“Selfless: concerned more with the needs and wishes of others than with one’s own; unselfish.”

Ever since I became a mother, I embodied the term, selfless. My children became the primary thing I cared about. I faded away. Now let me say, I’d die for any of my children, without hesitation. I am very proud of them and I have poured unconditional love into their hearts. But here’s this point. If I gave a new mother a word of advice it would be “don’t forget about yourself”. You can be a dedicated mother and still save a little bit for yourself. I didn’t do that. I can’t take back lost time and I don’t regret the time I dedicated to them. But I definitely lost myself. In the past 16 years, I may have done 2-3 things that were strictly for and about myself. Unless you count the extra five minutes in the shower that I’d steal on occasion. 

On my journey of self discovery over the past year, this was one of my realizations. I know it’s important to show myself love, too. I know it’s important, healthy and beneficial for my sanity to take breaks. So maybe now I take fifteen minutes to meditate. Guess what? They understand and they don’t disturb me for those 15 minutes. Minute 16, who can say! But what matters is that I show myself care as well. I deserve it. And they deserve this better version of me, too.

